Print Page | Close Window

When does history end?

Printed From: History Community ~ All Empires
Category: General History
Forum Name: General World History
Forum Discription: All aspects of world history, especially topics that span across many regions or periods
URL: http://www.allempires.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=3607
Printed Date: 20-Apr-2024 at 07:45
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.56a - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: When does history end?
Posted By: gcle2003
Subject: When does history end?
Date Posted: 25-May-2005 at 10:25

When I graduated in 1956, history - even 'modern history' - ended in 1914, when, as the British Foreign Secretary put it, the lights were going out all over the world.

That was about a 40-year gap. Which would mean that nowadays the Kennedy assassination, say, would be 'history', but the Vietnam war would not be.

However, 1914 wasn't just 40 years before. It also marked a cataclysmic change (at least the beginning of one) in the world.

Is there a comparable date/event that now should be taken as marking the 'end of history'?

Replies:
Posted By: poirot
Date Posted: 25-May-2005 at 10:54

In real history books:

World history ends at 1990s.

American history ends at Clinton Administration.

-------------
AAAAAAAAAA
"The crisis of yesterday is the joke of tomorrow.�   ~ HG Wells

Posted By: Frederick Roger
Date Posted: 25-May-2005 at 13:41

History does not end until the last Man on earth takes his last breath.

If you're asking for periodization, that varies according to different historiographic perspectives. In Portugal we use French timeline. According to that we're still livin in the Contemporary Ages, which started with the French Revolution in 1789.

-------------

Date Posted: 25-May-2005 at 15:54
Originally posted by poirot

In real history books:

World history ends at 1990s.

American history ends at Clinton Administration.