Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Alexander the Great: West instead of East

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
chessrook1 View Drop Down
Janissary
Janissary

Online Status: Offline
  Quote chessrook1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Alexander the Great: West instead of East
    Posted: 28-Dec-2004 at 04:52

Newbie here, I have a question, if Alexander the Great went west instead of east against the Persians, how well do you think his armies would do against against the Romans pre Marius armies, early Carthage, Latin people, Samnites, Ligurians, Gauls, Iberians, Numidians, Geremans, etc. Thanks for any response.

Herodotus View Drop Down
Samurai
Samurai

Quote Herodotus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Dec-2004 at 11:19

Well, I have heard, though i can't say from where, that after conquering and consolidating the east, Alexander had intended to go west, to conquer carthage and sicily.

My opinion: I think the macedonian army would have been at least if not more successful in the west than in the east. The sicilians and carthagainians (and pre-marian romans) both used the phalanx style of warfare, but Alexanders' phalanxes were undoubtaly better. Against the Gauls or Celtiberians in the wilderness of western Europe the classic greek phalanx may not have performed as well, however, in this age, Alexanders hopolites were still more than a match for the primitive tribal peoples, even if they couldnt hold to a phalanx formation.

However, holding onto conquered Gaul for instance may have proved much more difficult than holding onto the Fallen Persian Empire, whose head only had to be removed for the whole state to fail.

"Dieu est un comdien jouant une assistance trop effraye de rire."
"God is a comedian playing to an audience too afraid to laugh."
-Francois Marie Arouet, Voltaire

chessrook1 View Drop Down