Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Donald Kagan - The Peloponnesian War

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Master of Puppets View Drop Down
Samurai
Samurai

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Master of Puppets Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Donald Kagan - The Peloponnesian War
    Posted: 15-Aug-2004 at 16:25

Has anybody read this book? I once got a translation of Thoukudides (maybe a select few will remember) but never really got through it (I'm still planning to do so once).
I recently bought Donald Kagan's book on the Peloponnesian War in a local bookshop (I bought it because I wanted to "research" the subject again) and I found it highly enjoyable. It is the first in-depth book I have read about the subject, so I'm by no means an expert, but I thought it was a great piece of work. Kagan analyzes every situation and gives balanced judgements, while on the other hand managing to keep things interesting (although this is also due too the fascinating personalities involved, which is always one of the plus-things of political history for me). This book certainly was an eye-opener for me, too. It made me fully aware of the extreme complexness of politics in Ancient Hellas and how terrible this war really was.

Any other thoughts?

Wherever I turn, there is Death.
The Epic of Gilgamesh; Tablet XI, line 245
Yiannis View Drop Down
Sultan
Sultan

Quote Yiannis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-Aug-2004 at 03:42

Never read this book. But once you read it, go back and re-read Thukidides book. You'll appreceiate it a lot more!

The basis of a democratic state is liberty. Aristotle, Politics

Those that can give up essential liberty to obtain a temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. Benjamin Franklin
Samurai
Samurai