Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

The bombing of Dresden

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Kirsten View Drop Down
Janissary
Janissary

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Kirsten Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The bombing of Dresden
    Posted: 19-Nov-2013 at 10:14
Hello everyone! 
My name is Kirsten and I am a 17-year-old high school student from the Netherlands.
I am writing an essay on the bombing of Dresden and one of the questions I have to 
answer is:

'What were the goals of the allied forces for the bombing of Dresden?'

I have been struggling to find the information to answer this question properly and I was
wondering if you could help me. All help is appreciated! I am very interested in what you have to say about this subject.
Thank you!

PS. I've made this account this afternoon so I haven't got the chance yet to find other topics about the bombing on this forum, so if you could send a link I would be very grateful.
red clay View Drop Down
Administrator
Administrator
Tomato Master Emeritus

Quote red clay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19-Nov-2013 at 13:43
Kirsten, there have been many discussions of this subject here.  But for some reason, I'm unable to locate them.

You can try googling- Britains strategic bombing campaign, or "bomber Harris".  Dresden has been seen as the "one step too far" for the bombing of strategic targets.  As Dresden had no military importance, and was a refugee city, the goals were always fuzzy.

You've picked one of the more controversial subjects from the era.

"Arguing with someone who hates you or your ideas, is like playing chess with a pigeon. No matter what move you make, your opponent will walk all over the board and scramble the pieces".
Unknown.
beorna View Drop Down
General
General