Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Skype

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Kevin View Drop Down
General
General
Avatar
AE Editor

Joined: 27-Apr-2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 767
  Quote Kevin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Skype
    Posted: 11-Aug-2008 at 19:03
Just wondering does anyone on here use Skype and if so how is it? 
Back to Top
rider View Drop Down
Tsar
Tsar

Suspended

Joined: 09-Aug-2004
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4664
  Quote rider Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2008 at 19:07
I don't like Skype. 
Back to Top
hugoestr View Drop Down
Tsar
Tsar

Suspended

Joined: 13-Aug-2004
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3987
  Quote hugoestr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2008 at 19:51
It is free within network; very, very cheap when calling land lines. I use it to do long distance calls. I love it :)
Back to Top
Kevin View Drop Down
General
General
Avatar
AE Editor

Joined: 27-Apr-2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 767
  Quote Kevin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2008 at 20:47
Do you need headphones, mics or speakers to do it?
Back to Top
Roberts View Drop Down
Chieftain
Chieftain

aka axeman

Joined: 22-Aug-2005
Location: Riga
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1138
  Quote Roberts Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2008 at 20:53
I use it, its very good, handles voice transfer very well. Plus its clean and easy to use.

Kevin, yes, you need speaker (headphone) and mic.
Otherwise you can use it just for text chatting just like msn.
Back to Top
Kevin View Drop Down
General
General
Avatar
AE Editor

Joined: 27-Apr-2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 767
  Quote Kevin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2008 at 23:42
Originally posted by Roberts

I use it, its very good, handles voice transfer very well. Plus its clean and easy to use.

Kevin, yes, you need speaker (headphone) and mic.
Otherwise you can use it just for text chatting just like msn.


Do you have to use their brand of headsets and mics or can you use your own?
Back to Top
Northman View Drop Down
Tsar
Tsar

Suspended

Joined: 30-Aug-2004
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4262
  Quote Northman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Aug-2008 at 00:24
I use it every day - calling landlines in US, UK, Malaysia, Australia, Germany, Spain - its simply fantastic.
 
First they charged approx One Euro ($1.25) per hour which was very cheap - but now I have a 3 month subscriptions which is even cheaper for me.
 
If you call another computer with Skype installed, its totally free.
 
No Kevin - you can use any headset.
 
 
Back to Top
Dolphin View Drop Down
Arch Duke
Arch Duke

Suspended

Joined: 06-Feb-2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1551
  Quote Dolphin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Aug-2008 at 07:18
I'm in San Fran at the mo, and to ring home it would cost at least 50cent a minute normally, wih skype, I can ring home for 1.7cent per minute, and Skype to Skype is free. Absolutely fantastic service. It's allowing me to keep in touch with my family from half way across the world.

Kevin, if your laptop/pc is a higher end one, it may have in built speakers so you don't need headphones, but most times you do.
Back to Top
Balaam View Drop Down
Housecarl
Housecarl

Suspended

Joined: 12-Oct-2005
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1286
  Quote Balaam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Aug-2008 at 11:24
lol you all sound like TV ads but I think I might have to give Skype a go now, it sounds good.
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest
Guest
  Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Aug-2008 at 15:36
Originally posted by Kevin

Originally posted by Roberts

I use it, its very good, handles voice transfer very well. Plus its clean and easy to use.

Kevin, yes, you need speaker (headphone) and mic.
Otherwise you can use it just for text chatting just like msn.


Do you have to use their brand of headsets and mics or can you use your own?


You can port it to a pda phone, too if you have one. Makes it easier to call via wifi, or 3g if available (still lacking in the US though).


Back to Top
Kevin View Drop Down
General
General
Avatar
AE Editor

Joined: 27-Apr-2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 767
  Quote Kevin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12-Aug-2008 at 17:10
Hey if anyone has Skype PM please so we can exchange Skype screen names if any of you guys want to. 
Back to Top
Parnell View Drop Down
Suspended
Suspended

Suspended

Joined: 04-Apr-2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1409
  Quote Parnell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13-Aug-2008 at 18:16
Originally posted by Dolphin

Absolutely fantastic service.


You have me convinced.
Back to Top
Roberts View Drop Down
Chieftain
Chieftain

aka axeman

Joined: 22-Aug-2005
Location: Riga
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1138
  Quote Roberts Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13-Aug-2008 at 20:17
Originally posted by Kevin

Hey if anyone has Skype PM please so we can exchange Skype screen names if any of you guys want to. 

mine is robis_m , you can add me if you want.Big%20smile
Back to Top
Mercury_Dawn View Drop Down
Knight
Knight


Joined: 30-Aug-2008
Location: West Virginia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 69
  Quote Mercury_Dawn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30-Aug-2008 at 06:23
Onasander, or Onasander1, I can't remember which it is.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.56a [Free Express Edition]
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.