Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedAudio history project - please submit a l

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
tramsleeper View Drop Down
Immortal Guard
Immortal Guard

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Audio history project - please submit a l
    Posted: 05-Mar-2013 at 05:28

Hello everyone,

I am a radio journalist based in Prague, Czech Republic.

I am fascinated by the power of the spoken word, especially when describing the everyday lives and events of history.

So I have decided to embark on an audio project recording the everyday memories of everyday people.

I must admit that part of my motivation is driven by regret. My grandfather was an RAF Lancaster bomber navigator during WWII. The story goes that he would come home to my grandmother with horrific tales of lucky escapes during raids over occupied Europe. When my grandmother became pregnant (with my father), she virtually ordered my grandfather to go to his commanding officer and resign. So (and I believe to his eternal regret) he did. He was subsequently demoted and - as Private Smith - was sent to fight the Japanese in Burma. He didn't return until 1946.

As a child, I vaguely recall some harsh words between adults when my grandfather apparently refused to speak to one of my father's Japanese business colleagues.

Of course, these are just family stories and hazy childhood recollections. If only my grandfather had lived maybe 10 years longer (he died at the age of 69, when I was 13)! I would have been interested enough by then to have grabbed a tape recorder and got his own take on all these stories. It would have been wonderful, especially as I remember him as a very colourful character with a great turn of phrase.