Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Greatest king of the Dark Age

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Poll Question: Who do you think is the Greatest King of the dark age ?
Poll Choice Votes Poll Statistics
31 [23.85%]
5 [3.85%]
3 [2.31%]
2 [1.54%]
2 [1.54%]
2 [1.54%]
28 [21.54%]
2 [1.54%]
1 [0.77%]
11 [8.46%]
43 [33.08%]
0 [0.00%]
You can not vote in this poll

Author
Yugoslav View Drop Down
General
General

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Yugoslav Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Greatest king of the Dark Age
    Posted: 01-Dec-2007 at 12:35
Originally posted by Reginmund

Originally posted by es_bih

They had already lost before Kosovo, which played a more symbolic role than anything.

Please explain this. I'm not an expert on the Balkans in this period by any means, but every source I've read on it (books on the Crusades, Byzantium and Wikipedia articles on the Ottoman wars) emphasise the importance of the battle of Kosovo, as just two years previous the Ottomans had suffered a reverse at the hands of the Serbians in the battle of Plocnik, and with the victory at Kosovo they were finally able to weaken the Serbian position.

When you say the Serbians had already lost, are you thinking of the dissolvment of the Serbian "empire" and the defeat of the Serbian army at Maritsa in 1371? Even if these were serious reverses for the Serbians, I get the impression the Ottomans weren't able to reduce the Serbians to vassalage until after Kosovo, and even with the victory at Kosovo the Serbians remained in partial control of the city.