Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Transferring Vinyl to CD

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
red clay View Drop Down
Administrator
Administrator
Avatar
Tomato Master Emeritus

Joined: 14-Jan-2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10226
  Quote red clay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Transferring Vinyl to CD
    Posted: 17-Apr-2007 at 17:35
Is their anyone who has knowledge of this, or knows where I can get an overview, process, hardware etc.  I have an extensive collection of rare titles, [Morty- a treasure trove of BR stuff]  I would like to be able to preserve it and also share some of the more interesting stuff.
"Arguing with someone who hates you or your ideas, is like playing chess with a pigeon. No matter what move you make, your opponent will walk all over the board and scramble the pieces".
Unknown.
Back to Top
Cywr View Drop Down
King
King
Avatar
Retired AE Moderator

Joined: 03-Aug-2004
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6003
  Quote Cywr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Apr-2007 at 18:08
He, funnily enough i know someone who recently bought a USB record player that is intended to just the job.
I'll let you know more about it when i've seen it in action.
Arrrgh!!"
Back to Top
Northman View Drop Down
Tsar
Tsar

Suspended

Joined: 30-Aug-2004
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4262
  Quote Northman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Apr-2007 at 18:54
Actually, all you need is software - the hardware is in your computer (if your soundcard has a "Line in")
 
You can get many different qualities - here is a cheap example
 
 
Back to Top
Dan Carkner View Drop Down
Baron
Baron
Avatar

Joined: 07-Nov-2006
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 490
  Quote Dan Carkner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Apr-2007 at 18:57
You could do well to buy a soundcard slightly better than the one that comes with a normal computer.. but you don't have to spend a lot of money.  A lot can be done by running from the  stereo amp into the "Line in" at the back of the computer.  I've done it plenty of times and the quality satisfied me.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.56a [Free Express Edition]
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.