Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Yaomachtia- Mexican martial arts

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
ITZOCELOTL View Drop Down
Knight
Knight

Online Status: Offline
  Quote ITZOCELOTL Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Yaomachtia- Mexican martial arts
    Posted: 23-Dec-2005 at 15:30

Yaomachtia is supposably a Mexican martial art used by the Mexican military in ancient times. Yaomachtia translates into " warrior teachings" Yaomachtia comes from the two nahuatl words Yaotl- warrior and machtia- to study. They built temples, schools, and universities to teach Mexican men how to become deadly war machines. I read this some where on the internet and since I am a martial artist I have started my reasearch on this martial art. It is similar to the Japanese  Bushido- "way of the warrior" What I read was that boys and men would train at these schools learning how to use the, chimalli- shield, Maquahuitl- sword, Atl-latl- spear thrower, and other variouse weapons. The most skilled Yaotl would become an eagle knight or a jaguar knight after proving himself on the battle field. I am not sure how they fought hand to hand but I am sure they taught wrestling techniques or somthing. Tons and tons of information did not survive the brutal Spanish invasion because they burned most Mexican cities to the ground, they burned down all the Yaomachtia schools and all the codixes and scrolles containing the techniques of combat in Yaomachita and the philoshophy of this Mexican art.