Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Latin

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Justinian View Drop Down
Chieftain
Chieftain
King of Númenor

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Justinian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Latin
    Posted: 17-Nov-2005 at 00:05
I just started learning the latin language this semester (my high school didn't offer it) to all those fluent in latin my question is how long did it take you to learn latin?
"War is a cowardly escape from the problems of peace."--Thomas Mann

Jazz View Drop Down
Baron
Baron

Quote Jazz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Nov-2005 at 03:56
Et tu?

Just kidding - I have not taken any lessons...
Maju View Drop Down
King
King

Quote Maju Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Nov-2005 at 04:35
I just took one course but it wasn't so dificult, specially if your mother tongue happen to be a Romance one.

English has a lot of atin influence, via French mostly, that should help too. The more languages you learn the easier the next one.

NO GOD, NO MASTER!
tadamson View Drop Down
Baron
Baron

Quote tadamson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Nov-2005 at 11:30
Becomming flluent may take longer than you think..
You really need to practice talking a language and that's difficult for Latin.  There are quite a number of Latin web sites with news stories and fora that might help.
rgds.

Tom..
Imperator Invictus View Drop Down
Caliph
Caliph
Retired AE Administrator

Quote Imperator Invictus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Nov-2005 at 18:26
There are very very few people who are fluent in Latin. Those who are fluent in the U.S. tend to pronounce it with a "heavy American accent" - let's say.