Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Military strategy at Kleidion

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Varangian View Drop Down
Immortal Guard
Immortal Guard

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Varangian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Military strategy at Kleidion
    Posted: 07-Apr-2019 at 12:15
Hi, I've been on here a long time ago and amazingly still have my login info. The question I want to throw out to members here for their help on I have been stewing over for some time. I am on my second historical novel in a trilogy set in the Byzantine Empire, so I am not a newbie on research and consulting primary sources, but on this I am coming up dry. I can find only the most basic of information regarding the famous battle of Kleidion. It is not a central part of my story, but because it is so famous, I want to get it right. I am sure there are threads regarding this topic, but my question is very specific. I know that the sources tells us Basil conducted a direct assault on the Bulgarians' palisade across the Strumica Valley. But there is no indication how this assault was made.