Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Research I: Everyday live during the Crusades

Post Reply Post Reply
Rate this Article:
Poll Choice Votes Poll Statistics
0 [0.00%]
0 [0.00%]
0 [0.00%]
0 [0.00%]
0 [0.00%]
You can not vote in this poll

Author
Gee View Drop Down
Immortal Guard
Immortal Guard

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Gee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Research I: Everyday live during the Crusades
    Posted: 28-Sep-2017 at 12:49
Hello Friends,

soon I will have a lot of spare time - so I decided to start a little art project.
I am a musician and 3d-Designer with a great Interest in History.
My plan: I want to create a little Islamic settlement in the near east in the times during the second or third Crusade, using Computergrafics and my other artskills. Like a 3D-Computer-diorama if you will.

I picked this timeperiod, because I think the Conflict between both the christian culture and the islamic culture (and them being forced to live next to each other in the crusader states) is some excellent material for such a project.

Here comes the problem: While it is quite easy to find out everything about major historical events, characters or war, the normal life of the normal people is hard to research.

And eventhough I dont strive to create a 100% historical accurate scientifically proven project, I'd still like to make something that comes relatively close to reality.
And so far my research was not too productive.

I wanted to start by modeling out different interiors of buildings. Therefore I need to know how an average builing in 1100s palestine or syria looks like.

I hardly find answers to questions as simple as these:

-Who/How many were living in the Houses? One Family? How big would such a Family be? Are the living with animals in the same home, like for example in ancient germany?