Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Muslims in the Balkans

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
calvo View Drop Down
General
General

Online Status: Offline
  Quote calvo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Muslims in the Balkans
    Posted: 03-Aug-2007 at 13:41
I was surprised to see on TV the other day that more than 10% of the Bulgarian population are Muslim. It also said that Muslims form a percentage of the Rumanian and Macedonian population as well.

Are most of Bulgarian and Rumanian Muslims, like Bosniaks, Slavic converts to the Islamic faith? Or are they descendants are Turkish colonists?

Are they in general totally integrated into the majority population?
konstantinius View Drop Down
General
General

Quote konstantinius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05-Aug-2007 at 18:54
I'm not an expert on this but my hunch is that Balkan Muslims today are a mix of:
a) Roma (are ALL Roma Muslim?)
b) descendants of Turkish settlers since Ottoman times
c) local populations (i.e. Albanians, Bosnians) who converted to Islam              while not being ethnically Turkish
" I do disagree with what you say but I'll defend to my death your right to do so."
Ovidius View Drop Down
Baron
Baron

Quote Ovidius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06-Aug-2007 at 15:57
yes, 0.3% of the Romanian Population is Muslim! How significant!

Of the Romanians that are Muslims, most are descendents of migrants - Turks, Tartars and more recent migrants. Eastern Romania (the coastal Areas) were controlled by Tartars and there were plenty of Ottoman Turks also in the region. So Islam has a fairly long History in Romania.