Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Best History program for collaborative research?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
PolishPrince View Drop Down
Immortal Guard
Immortal Guard

Online Status: Offline
  Quote PolishPrince Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best History program for collaborative research?
    Posted: 04-Feb-2007 at 19:43
Hi everyone... I am a huge History buff, this is my first post here, I hope in the right section. It will be a little long but I hope someone can help me!

I am an MA student in History, about to finish my degree. I am specializing in the cultural/social history of East-Central Europe, with an emphasis on Poland and the Balkans. My work is not straight up, theoretical history, as I focus on monuments, collective memory, and related topics. For my thesis, I am writing on representations of Pope JPII in monuments, museums, public exhibitions and so forth in Poland, for which I did alot of personal observation, photography and interviews to finish. I also am having a photo essay published on pictures I took in Bosnia/Croatia on representations of war, in addition to a work on how the destruction of material culture in Bosnia was reflective of nationalist tendencies. Anyways, the reason I write this, is that I will be done my degree soon, but want to find a way to continue along this path, ie. combining academics with field studies, photography, and material culture. So in effect, I am looking for a way to continue this and make it into a lasting and enjoyable career, either as an academic or independent researcher. Be one of those people who is able to design and research both museum exhibits, photographic compilations, teach courses, etc, where I can one day end up doing similar projects all over the area.