Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

How come the Soviet Union an America locked horns

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
think View Drop Down
Baron
Baron

Online Status: Offline
  Quote think Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How come the Soviet Union an America locked horns
    Posted: 26-Nov-2006 at 17:02
OK i know why they "locked horns" so to speak but why didnt the Soviet Union reduce its military budget an start catering for the citizens, or why wasnt communism relaxed bit by bit so they could have the wealth that America had..

I understand they were both Super Powers, both enemies an both wanted to be top dog. Yet it would have been evident to the Russians that this over-spending was going to bankrupt them...

Im no expert on the Cold War Smile

What was Africas role during the Cold War Confused
pekau View Drop Down
Caliph
Caliph
Atlantean Prophet

Quote pekau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-Dec-2006 at 22:16
That's an interesting point.

I think (Correct me if I am wrong) the Soviet officials did not have clear idea about their nation. One must consider the crisis the Soviet had in WWI, WWII, Mogolian invasion and such. Imperial Russia and Soviet Union suffered enormous casualties and damages from the West. Especially after WWII, where Soviet Union suffered over 7 million Russians with countless amount of property damages, the Russian leaders were so concerned about foreign threats. They soon believed in the idea of Stalin. If Russia have lack of defense, then Russians would all go to hell by the enemies' weapons. They believed that the best interest for the Russian people is to strengthen the security at all costs.