Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Im a brazillian historian...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Alcebiades View Drop Down
Housecarl
Housecarl

suspended

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Alcebiades Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Im a brazillian historian...
    Posted: 29-Jun-2012 at 12:27
So yea, if anyone wants to know something about South American history, shoot, but let me warn you that our history is rather dull and boring.(I majored in classical studies, but I still know a good deal about LA history).
Nick1986 View Drop Down
Emperor
Emperor
Mighty Slayer of Trolls

Quote Nick1986 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30-Jun-2012 at 19:07
Alcibiades, can you tell me about the precolumbian civilisations that predated the Aztecs and Incas? What caused their mysterious disappearance?
Me Grimlock not nice Dino! Me bash brains!
Housecarl
Housecarl

suspended

Quote Alcebiades Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Jul-2012 at 14:26
  Hmmm... its not as much that they mysteriously disappeared, but like other illeterate people from the "Old World", we know very little about them because either they left no written records, or we´re not able to translate them. Unfortunetly, we haven´t found a "Rosetta Stone" for a lot of those populations, so their history are left for archaelogist to ponder.

The most notable pre-columbian civilizations are the:

Olmecs(1.600 B.C.E/900 B.C.E) - Precursors to pretty much every central american civilization that came afterwards, they are the first western civilization to have devoloped a comprehensive writting system and were also responsible for creating the pantheon of anthropomorphics Gods that would become standard for the region for the next 2.500 years (Serpent God, Sun God, Chamaleon God, Jaguar God etc...).