Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Academia

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
HaloChanter View Drop Down
Samurai
Samurai

Online Status: Offline
  Quote HaloChanter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Academia
    Posted: 09-Oct-2007 at 23:38

Do we have any other Students of History out there at University (or postgrad) level?

What are you studying/researching, at what level, anything interesting, how are you finding it, what archives are you using?

Cheers!

Kind regards,

HaloChanter
Guests View Drop Down
  Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Oct-2007 at 01:16
I guess that would be me - I'm a PhD student, currently in first year, still stuck in unending coursework.  My research area is Victorian Britain - mainly social and technological stuff - trains to fashion to food to architecture.  I am going to attempt to write a dissertation on the rise of tourism in Britain during the nineteenth century (hopefully this is possible) and look forward to making several research trips to the Isles to aid me in my task.
Samurai
Samurai

Quote HaloChanter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18-Oct-2007 at 06:41
That's fantastic - I live in Eastbourne, which is a Victorian town on the South Coast of England.

It was built wholly by the Dukes of Cavendish in the mid-nineteenth century as a seaside resort. Along with Brighton, which is about twenty minutes away, it is considered the Victorian seaside town.

Funny enough, I have a wonderful collection of late nineteenth century photo's of Victorians enjoying themselves along the promenade and pier (in full regala complete with walking sticks and umbrellas). I think you'd find them fascinating. I'll try and post them on here for you when I get a chance.
Kind regards,

HaloChanter
Guests View Drop Down